left flag
right flag
Music : Home
REVIEWS
 Artist: Ron Waters
Title: Sunset 2000
Label: Kingfisher
By: Marcus Thell :Swedish Radio Station - City 97.7
4 hats (5 hats is the best you can get!)

This is Ron´s 10th CD. He´s from the UK & sings mostly covers, but his versions are really good!
The best songs on this Cd are: "Blue Rose Is", "Adalida", "Calling Baton Rouge", "Another Good Reason", "Thank God For The Radio" and "You Are No Angel".
This is a perfect Cd for both the hardcore country fans & the ones who just listens to country sometimes. A great mixture between traditional & new modern country!!!
(March Issue) North Country Music by Dave Walker:-
We went along to Grassmoor WMC where we found a change of artiste when we arrived. It was our first time viewing of solo singer Ron Waters, who comes from Morecambe and has been entertaining musically for thirty nine years. He has a nice strong, clear voice and I cannot understand why we haven't seen more of this guy on the country circuit, around our area.
His repertoire is second to none, as he can cater for any taste of country music, be it the golden oldies from the likes of Merle Haggard and Willie Nelson, to the more traditional from the likes of Glen Campbell, Charlie Pride, and Don Williams, through to the more modern songs from Garth Brooks, Charlie Landsborough and Hal Ketchum.
He can easily keep the line dancers on the floor all night, but equally keep the listeners happy. His songs and tempos vary and his backing and recordings are all produced by himself. My songs of the night were 'Blue Rose Is' and 'You Are No Angel'.
This was a good nights entertainment and everyone I spoke to seemed to agree.
North Country Music April Issue.
Under CD reviews Dave Walker. Country Classics Volume 1 Ron Waters
After 40 years in the business and still going strong Ron has brought together twelve tracks of country classics that every fan can sing along to. He has a strong, rich velvet voice that suits the type of songs he sings and he has a warm and friendly
personality that shines through and spills over into these recordings.
From the very first track 'Devil Woman' he immediately projects the warmth in his voice and sets the quality of what is to
follow. He has recorded tracks from the all time favourites of country music, such as Don Williams, Charlie Rich, Jim Reeves and Kenny Rogers, I like his version of 'Always On My Mind' 'My Woman My Woman My Wife' and 'Welcome To My World'. This is a very relaxing and easy listening CD and one that is worth a listen to by any country fan.
Extracts from the Pathfinder Country Magazine by John Brookfield
February 2000 :- "Well we received this CD in the post after a conversation on the phone, when Ron was enquiring about adverts in the magazine. Never having heard of him, in the years we have been reporting on the scene, he said he would send me a cd to have a listen to, well true to his word it came along with a very comprehensive biog.
It seems that Ron Waters has been in the entertainment business for 38 years, covering country as he puts it "in it's hay day, but now includes line dancing to keep up with the times, and has 1O albums out to date. If this is a good sample of his albums then they are well worth listening to, well performed and produced and from the list sent to me good value for money. I have never heard Ron do a live show but certainly look forward to doing so in the near future. A thing that must be a plus is the price of the cassettes 3.99 and CD's 5.99, all having at least l2 tracks. In my mind well worth the investment, and from listening well worth booking. "
March Issue Colin reports "We were invited to 'Kingfisher Promotions' at Preston. The venue London Road Labour Club the home of the Ranch House CWC It was the first right for a new venture for Ron Waters in this area, Line Dance Tuition and Ron gave us two sets of live music which I really enjoyed After some years in resident venues Ron is going back on the road and is looking for gigs maybe at your club. I for one can recommend him. If you get a chance to go to see him take it because you will enjoy his show. " May Issue John Brookfield says of the latest release volume 10 called Sunset 2000
" Another CD from Kingfisher Promotions, there is one thing for sure Ron Waters has certainly got a vast repertoire of country songs. I know that he does all backing and recording himself, and he does a good variety of numbers on his C:D'.s,numbers as diverse as Charlie Landsborough's 'What Colour Is The Wind' to ' Adelaida' to 'Calling Baton Rouge'. One thing for sure Ron does the numbers his way, and does not try and emulate the actual artist. "
April issue John Brookfield reviewing album No 8. Line Dance Nights says:
" As the title suggests this album is aimed straight at the dancers out there, but while doing
so seems to put something in there for the listeners too. I think it 's the laid back voice of Ron's which goes with easy listening style, with some well thought out backing, which although laid back keeps the tempo of the numbers .So the dancers don't miss out. "
On his website Ken Muzzall says :
Ron Waters has been in the business for over 38 years, but I've never seen him. Why not, I ask myself. Well, I put that to rights when I popped into The Casablanca Club, Home of The Grimsby Country Music Club, for their final show at this location. (They were moving to The Leaking Boot in Cleethorpes the following week). What a voice this guy possesses. Strong, mellow and clear as a bell. Superb repertoire too. For me, the golden oldies were brill. Charlie Rich, Hank Williams, Charlie Pride and Marty Robbins and many, many more. Absolutely brill. Mind you, his line dance repertoire is just as good, with all the classic dance songs from The Mavericks, Boz Scaggs, Lacy J Dalton, Dave Sheriff and lots of others. Must admit, I liked this guy. His collection of 10 albums, shows his dedication to the business. I've sat and listened to his very first album, Country Classics, a dozen times and I can see why he sold over 17,000 copies in 3 years. Robbins, Reeves, Rich, Rogers, Williams, Cline and Arnold are all given the Waters treatment. Great album.
The Grapevine - Out and About with Chris & Eddie July 2000 (4th May Longfield Suite, Prestwich)
Our first visit to this excellent venue. We walked into continuous music and popular dances mixed with lots of classic Country. "Ron Waters" we had not seen perform before but had notices regular adv. in the mag and decided it was time we did Ron sings "Old Country" and has an extensive repertoire. He began with "Lets Pretend" which filled the floor and then moved on gently onto his standard country songs. Even without dancing it was nice to sit and relax and listen or sing along. We particularly enjoyed "Black Coffee" and that did fill the floor. He certainly made the floor bounce a bit! His style is homely cosy and pleasant. Thanks for the CD it sits nicely with our country collection. Best of Friends rounded off a very enjoyable evening and we will come again at the next opportunity.

Extracts From Country Music Round Up August 2000 Issue by Ken Muzzal
Ron Waters seems to be getting some rave reviews wherever he plays. I've seen him twice and I can certainly recommend him to the country clubs out there, be it line dancing or concert. Ron has hundreds of songs in his repertoire and proves it with ten excellent albums on display. Country music, middle of the road, and line dancing, Ron can do the lot. If this guy visits your area be sure to be there, you'll have a great night listening or dancing. Extract from Country Music Round Up August 2000 CD Review by Pete Smith If you like the old country favourites, and I do if they're done well, you'll like Ron Waters 'Country Classics Volume 1' through Kingfisher Promotions. I doubt if any country fan of ten years or more will not know intimately any of the twelve songs Ron has chosen. The songs, spanning forty years, were hits for Eddy Arnold, Willie Nelson, Jim Reeves, Marty Robbins, Charlie Rich, Kenny Rogers and Don Williams. Ron has a great voice and does justice to the revival of 'Behind Closed Doors', 'Always On My Mind', 'Amanda', ----- Excellent backings and strong production. Extract from Country Music Round Up September 2000 - Review Keith Shepherd I received 2 CD's 'Vol. 6 The Best Of Country' & 'Vol. 10 Sunset 2000' Ron's latest, both contain classic and modern country music of high quality. Ron has a rich baritone voice and has been around the country scene some time. Popular around the venues as a solo act with excellent backing tracks. So have a look at him. He produces his own CD's and tapes which are absolutely first class. Pete Smith who gave an excellent report reviewed one of his albums in last months CMRU

Also in Novembers issue of Up Country CD review
Ron Waters Vol. 10 Lancashire based Country Singer released his 10th CD to date with Sunset 2000 a fourteen-track compilation of Country tracks aimed at the line dancers. Mexican Wind, Ribbon of Highway, Baton Rouge, and Lets Pretend are just 4 of the tracks on offer on this album


From Ray Grundy's  Metro Country 
The tracks I am reviewing here are a compilation taken from volumes 9 & 10.
Ron has good voice, strong with a slight vibrato, that can deliver the modern songs, popular with the linedancers, to the old classics, from artist like Marty Robbins, Charlie Rich, Don Williams etc, with consummate ease.
Volume 9 kicks off with a good version of the Mavericks hit, "All You Ever Do Is Bring Me Down," first of only two modern tracks on here, with the second being a fine cover of "If Tomorrow Never Comes," a big hit for Garth Brooks in 1989.
Ron then goes on to give some very credible covers of some of the old classics, such as, Willie Nelson's "Crazy," most associated with Patsy Cline of course, Charlie Rich's "The Most Beautiful Girl In The World," Marty Robbins' "El Paso" and "My Woman My Woman My Wife," "Amanda," recorded by both Don Williams and Waylon Jennings, Dr Hook's "Queen Of The Silver Dollar" and Kenny Rogers' pop hit "Lady."
Also included on Volume 9, although not on this review copy, are "She Ain't Cryin' Anymore" one of Billy Ray Cyrus' better songs, and one of my all time favourites, "These Shoes Keep Walking Back To You." The backings used are excellent throughout, making this a very enjoyable album to listen to.
Volume 10 is completely different, being aimed straight at the linedancers. They should find plenty here to dance to here, from slow one's like Charlie Landsborough's "What Colour Is The Wind," and "Mexican Wind," recorded - I think? - by Tish Hinojosa, to mid paced numbers such as Poacher's "You Are No Angel," Pam Tillis' "Blue Rose Is," (a song that often gets misconstrued as Blue Roses), "Straight Tequila" and "Thank God For The Radio," a hit for both The Kendalls and Alan Jackson, plus lively tunes like "Calling Baton Rouge," Scooter Lee's "Ribbon Of Highway" and "Another Good Reason."
Other tracks on Volume 10, not on this copy are, "Let's Pretend," "Don't Come Crying To Me," "Honky Tonk Man " and the Marty Robbins classic, "Story Of My Life."
On both these albums there are some I like and some I don't like so much, as tends to happen with most albums you buy from any artist.
But that isn't a problem with Ron, because he offers a service where, if you tell him the songs you want, he will make up an album specially for you.
With prices at 5.99 for CD's and 3.99 for cassettes, these albums are terrific value and it's not surprising that they sell well.
If you get the chance to catch Ron live, go and see him. I haven't seen him yet, but I most certainly will be there if he comes to our area.

Country Music Round Up-Ken Muzzall October 2000
Ron Waters made a welcome return visit to the Leaking Boot last month and put over a solid performance. I normally like to listen to Ron but this time he did his line dance routine which kept the dance floor full all evening. I even spent a lot of time on the dance floor myself which is something I haven't done in a long while. Another flawless evening from a perfect gentleman.
Up Country-Country Spirit November 2000
Many people had been disappointed that the Dixie Stampede festival in Morecambe was cancelled but Brian and Brenda from Diamond D club saved the night of 16th September. It was a successful night and packed to the 'gills' with locals and visitors from afar. The live music came from Ron Waters who performed three sets with a good mix of Traditional Country for the Cowboys/girls, and modern Country to keep all the line dancers up dancing and happy, it was a night to remember for all who went out for a good Country night.

Country Music Round Up - Ken Muzzall
November 2000 At - Seymour's Place, Thorpe Park
Ron Waters put over a pleasant show. His decision to mix it up a bit pleased the holiday makers and country fan's alike with songs from George Hamilton 1V, Marty Robbins, Don Williams, and the Tractors, Roy Orbison, Neil Diamond, The Mavericks and Gary Puckett and a full session for the line dancers. Late night this one, but very enjoyable.
Pathfinder - Jean B November 2000
At- Diamond D Western Association. Morecambe
Dancers and listeners came from as far afield as Ireland evens with the petrol crisis. No one was disappointed as it was a brilliant night with Ron Waters as the artist giving a great evenings entertainment catering to the westerners and dancers and singing both traditional and modern country. The only disappointment was it had to end, as all good things do. "

Extract From North Country Music June 2000 Issue CD Review - Eric Pimlatt
Most recent album from Ron Waters titled Sunset 2000 is his tenth of which six are devoted to Country. His first album released sold 17,000 copies when first released over 30 year", ago and his latest has fourteen tracks which are covers from major artists like George Strait (Adalida), Scooter Lee (Ribbon Of Highway), Pam Tillis (Blue Rose Is), Garth Brooks (Callin Baton Rouge) and Sharon B's recent line dance hit 'Lets Pretend'. A good quality production From Kingfisher Promotions

Extract from Country Music Round Up August 2000 CD Review by Pete Smith
If you like the old country favourites, and I do if they're done well , you'll like Ron Waters 'Country Classics Volume 1' through Kingfisher Promotions. I doubt if any country fan of ten years or more will not know intimately any of the twelve songs Ron has chosen. The songs, spanning forty years, were hits for Eddy Arnold, Willie Nelson, Jim Reeves, Marty Robbins, Charlie Rich, Kenny Rogers and Don Williams. Ron has a great voice and does justice to the revival of 'Behind Closed Doors', 'Always On My Mind', 'Amanda', ----- Excellent backings and strong production .

Extract from Country Music Round Up September 2000 - Review Keith Shepherd
I received 2 cd's 'Vol 6 The Best Of Country' & 'Vol 10 Sunset 2000' Ron's latest , both contain classic and modern country music of high quality. Ron has a rich baritone voice and has been around the country scene some time. Popular around the venues as a solo act with excellent backing tracks. So have a look at him. He produces his own CD's and tapes which are absolutely first class. One of his albums was reviewed in last months CMRU by Pete Smith who gave an excellent report

ICMA Nashville USA by Rhett Ashley from the newsletter update April 2001
"The Best Of Country" 12 songs "Sunset 2000" 14 songs. Ron Waters a refreshing different approach to some old country standards. If Ray Price had sung "On The Road Again", instead off Willie Neslon, it might have sounded as good as Ron's version. Rating 4 1/2 (out off 5)